entcian24's Sister: she wants to taper divalproex / Depakote

entcian24

Hi, 

I'm new to SA & yet to write an introduction about me. Having been reading a lot about tapering meds since past few days. 

I'll quickly get onto the point & ask about tapering Divalproex sodium er 500mg, which my younger sister has been taking for about 2 yrs. 

I've read a lot of threads concerning Divalproex, which suggest that these tablets are ER so cannot be dissolved in water, or cut down! Plus, I stay in Mumbai,India where I'm not able to find depakote sprinkles that I can measure & taper to about 10% of the current 500mg.

Meanwhile, I have an idea to taper which is slightly awkward & new:

I intend to taper the current weekly dosage of 3500mg(500mg×7), by having a 375mg(Divalproex sodium 125mg available here) day on Wednesday! 

This way I only taper by 3.57% (125 mg taper for the entire week) for about 4 weeks...& then gradually have a 375mg Saturdays as well (taper by 7.14%, tapering 250 mg weekly)  & so on..

I know, this method is entirely non- uniform on daily basis, but I should give it a try since me & my sister sincerely want to reduce her dependence & associated effects of the medicine.

Would love to listen to others views on this & if a similar thing has been tried by anyone on SA.

Thanks 🙂

Edited by ChessieCat
added spacing

--Started Antidepressants

-02/2016-06/2018: nortriptyline 25mg. more energy to keep up with life. Sx: constipation, weight gain, disconnect

-06/2018-12/2019:-!!Change in meds!! lorazepam 1mg, (clonazepam 0.5mg +escitalopram 5mg). Better sleep but back, shoulder, neck, leg aches. Tiredness increased. Weight loss-lose exactly those 9kgs in 5-6 months. Anger,irritation intensity reduces. Constipation changes to frequent diarrhea, upset stomach 

-01/2019-02-2019: (clonazepam 0.5mg +escitalopram 5mg): Increased urine output. sx gone in 3 weeks.