Calfa going off Effexor XR

Calfa

Hello! I am so relieved to find this site and thank you. I have been on effexor xr for 10 years. I have been tapering for about 8 months. Wanting to move as slowly as possible to not only minimize withdrawal but to monitor myself. As per my nurse practioner I am now down to 37.5 every other day. I started reasearching because throughout the entire process I had withdrawals but nothing like this. I am very confused and frustrated at the entire thing. I just counted the beads in a capsule and there are around 40 in mine. So I guess I will reduce beads each day and find a new doctors office.

Returningtonormal it sounds like we are in the same spot. I will think positive thoughts for you! This is the weirdest and worst thing I have gone through and so hard to begin to explain. I do know it is comforting to know that you are not alone in this.

Thank you Altostrata for creating this site.

• Administrator

You're welcome, Calfa! I moved your first post here as your Intro topic, for your updates and questions about your particular situation.

First, stop skipping doses of Effexor XR, please! This is a good way to trigger withdrawal symptoms. If I were you, I'd take the same 37.5mg dose every day. Stabilize for at week or two before making any other dosage changes.

Here is a topic about tapering Effexor http://survivingantidepressants.org/index.php?/topic/272-tips-for-tapering-off-effexor-and-effexor-xr-venlafaxine/

Dr. Peter Breggin is in Ithaca, NY, have you tried to see him?

This is not medical advice. Discuss any decisions about your medical care with a knowledgeable medical practitioner.

"It has become appallingly obvious that our technology has surpassed our humanity." -- Albert Einstein

All postings © copyrighted.

Thank you so much!Also, thank you for redirecting my post. I have never done a forum or anything like that before.