Derek Need To Taper Off Pristiq To Start Emsam, Questions

Derek

Hi everyone,

I've been on 100mg of Pristiq for about 3 years and I've been tapering off a high dosage of clonazepam for about 2 years. I'm very low with clonazepam, I'm at .375mg from 6mg. However, on Monday, I had a suicide attempt and realized I could no longer bear the depression that the clonazepam withdrawal has been giving me so I needed to make a new plan.

I have an appointment with my psychiatrist tomorrow so I need to get some things straight.

My plan is to taper off Pristiq and switch to the MAOI Emsam patch (since you need to be off all anti-depressants for 2 weeks before starting an MAOI). I was thinking of increasing my dosage of clonazepam to 2mg while I went through Pristiq withdrawal but I'm very afraid. I know what it's like to come off anti-depressants (I've been on them since I was 11 and have tried to go off them before). I know the symptoms, the brain shocks, the insomnia, the nausea, all of it. The problem with Pristiq is that they only have 100mg and 50mg tablets. Before I suggest this to my psychiatrist, I'm curious to know how a typical psychiatrist would ween someone off of a nasty drug like that. Would it take a few weeks to get off or will it be a matter of months? I've been through benzo withdrawal for 2 years so I understand what withdrawal hell feels like so I feel like I MIGHT be able to handle it.

But what other factors would come into play? My GABA receptors are all crazy because of the benzo withdrawal. I don't think I could finish the benzo withdrawal because the depression is unbearable.

Also, how long would the effects from Pristiq withdrawal typically last? Would they last far into after starting the Emsam patch to the point where I wouldn't be able to feel the effects?

Is this a shoddy plan?

p.s. I won't do mood stabilizers, Cymbalta or Wellbutrin. They've done nothing for me. The typical SSRIs as well.

Thank you for your help!

• Administrator