ami28: Meds to control pain, need to be done!

ami28

Hello, first post!

I came across this site through mad Googling about how to get off all of my meds. 

My story (will try to keep this succinct, bet I'm not successful 😀😞

I'm a full time Firefighter, for about 25 years now.

Regular, consistent, rugged wear and tear on my back led me to seek pain treatment options back in 2010 or so.

I started Oxycodone. I take it daily, it helps, I don't abuse it or take it inappropriately. 

I was also placed on Cymbalta 30 mg for radiating leg pain, increased to 60 mg shortly thereafter. 

I maintained that regimen for several years. Frankly, it made it possible for me to continue my career, as surgery is not an option while I'm active. For that, I'm grateful.

I started experiencing migraines a couple of years ago. My primary placed me on low dose amitriptyline (10 mg) for migraine prophylaxis. She warned me at the time to take it opposite the Cymbalta (take Cymbalta in AM and the Ami in PM, for example).

Just to round out my medication regimen, I also take Adderall 60 mg daily. I was diagnosed with ADD as an adult. Honestly, Adderall has been life changing for me. I only wish I had been diagnosed earlier in my life.

I'm here because of my pain. Over the past couple years, the Oxy has become less effective. I've been searching for help for the pain, as I "only" have 6 years to go until I'm of age to retire with full benefits.

I recently found an option that works well for me. Took it for about a week, was able to drop my Oxy use by 25% per day. Fully intended to wean myself from Oxy and continue with this new supplement.

Then - the fun began. I won't bore you with the details, but I basically ended up in mild/moderate serotonin syndrome. The new supplement was interacting with the Cymbalta (or the Amitriptyline? Or both?), and it was essentially not allowing the Cymbalta or Ami to be metabolized fast enough, causing a serotonin build up.