SS1234: 23 year old student, starting Sertraline (zoloft) taper, guidance appreciated!

ss1234

Hello everyone!

I am a 23 year old student. History of anxiety disorders in the family (mom, sister, and aunt all have OCD). No OCD symptoms myself, but diagnosed with generalized anxiety disorder and perscribed 100 mg Sertraline in a time of a lot of life transition about 6 months ago. Worked great, felt calmer, more social and "in the moment" ; but gained 15 pounds that I can't attribute to anything else. Now six months later, my life situation has stablized and I am frustrated with the weight gain and want to taper off. I also am doing it as I want to start having a family in the next 5-7 years and don't want to deal with withdrawal before getting pregnant.

My main questions that I would love for some first hand experience guidance on, as there doesn't seem to be a lot of actual scientific literature on the topic:

1) Has anyone had experience with rapid weight gain on zoloft and then lost it after stopping? I have found conflicting experiences in the forums (which I guess just means its different for everyone?).

2) I am worried about tapering while I am in school - I am in an intensive program 9-5 every day with homework in the evening. Any advice?

3) Any tips to minimize symptoms. I am down to 50 mg now and have headaches and feel almost "hyperaware" like my mind is going really fast all the time (does that make sense?)

On 100 mg of Sertraline for 5.5 months for generalized anxiety disorder, insomnia, and strenuous life transitions. Gained 15 pounds in first 5 months but worked great.

Started tapering one month ago (January) by going down to 75mg because of frustration with weight gain and stabilization of life situation (feeling ready to handle anxiety with strategies, excersise, and healthy eating).

Consulted doctor one week ago (Feb 18) about going off of it. Advised to go down to 50mg for two weeks.