AmyN: Quit Lexapro 20 mg cold turkey 6 days ago

AmyN

Hi all!  I know many of you will jump on here and tell me that quitting cold turkey is a bad idea!  You may be right!!  So, here is my story.  I started on Lexapro, 10 mg. about 15 years ago fro anxiety/depression.  Eventually, that dosage was increased to 20 mg.  I have been doing spiritual work and healing in my life recently.  When I ran out of my prescription, I had an overwhelming urge to quit the stuff altogether.  I felt like I was tired of poisoning my body, if anyone can relate to that.  Also, I realized that, while Lexapro tended to help with depression/anxiety, it also had an overall numbing effect on me.  I felt like I wanted "myself" back.  I am a very sensitive person, but along with that come gifts!  I don't want those squelched/suppressed for the rest of my life! I am a writer and I want to feel things and regain my desire and drive to write.  Also, since quitting, it does feel like my sex drive is returning, which is a bonus for my marriage!

I did go through one day of severe depression/suicidal thoughts.  That got better the very next day and I haven't had it since.  What I have been dealing with lately were brain zaps (although infrequent compared to times I've tried to quit in the past), and mostly, extreme spaciness/forgetfulness!!!  This is driving me nuts!! I dropped my cell phone into the bath (I think it'll recover), I forget where I put things, etc. etc.  It's been about 6 days now and I feel a little better every day.  I am determined to get off this stuff and don't really want to go back onto a lower dose because I feel like that would set me back!

My husband is pretty understanding but he is worried about the safety of quitting cold turkey. I just don't want to be lured into going back onto the drug like I have in the past.