Cook54: I want to wean off Zoloft 50mg, after 20+ years

COOK54

I was put on Zoloft years ago when I was having panic attacks and very stressed and also had some depression, not to the level that I was a danger to myself or couldn't leave my home. But I tried weaning (taking 6 months) about 5 yrs ago, I remember nausea, but about 3 months after my last dose I felt like I was going downhill again, the doctor thought I should go back on and I did. Felt like myself again.

Now I have been doing yoga for many years and started meditation. I would like to try to stop again and see if my current lifestyle will be enough. 

I have read that when you get older there are dangerous side effects being on SSRI's, I am 62 years old.

Any help would be appreciated.

I thought I would cut 1/3 off my 50mg for a month to start.

Welcome.  

A moderator will come by and let you know all the details about tapering.  

My view may not be popular....but I believe, from my experience, that if you have been on an SSRI for more than a decade, some major planning needs to happen in order to address any underlying physical issues that caused you to get on the meds to begin with.  The most common being gut issues/undiagnosed food sensitivities.  

You are in good hands with this forum.  Lots of great folks here...

HISTORY: Lexapro 10mg (current and for approximately 7 years; Prozac 20mg for 5 years and Zoloft 50mg for 5 years)

Lexapro (too fast taper) 9mg 09/13; 8mg 10/13; 7mg 12/13; 6mg  02/14; 5mg  04/14; 4mg 06/14 2.5mg 08/29/14 2.25 mg 12/04/14;

Re-instatement - 2.5mg 12/17/14; 03/01/15 3.0 mg; 04/01/15 - 5mg;  05/01/15  6mg; 5/15/15 6.5mg 6/01/15 7.5mg

2nd attempt at micro taper: starting dose is 7.5mg using liquid compounded rx: 12/16/17 - 7mg;  02/05/18 - 6.75mg 04/06/18 - 6.5ml  05/31/18 re-instate back to 6.75mg 

• Moderator Emeritus

Hi Cook,

Welcome to SA.  You've found a great site with members and voluntary staff who are supportive and helpful.