GalacticCake: Severe brain zaps from Paroxetine

GalacticCake

Hi everyone.

I was given Paroxetine (20mg) back in 2013/2014 (can't remember correctly) when I was a teenager (14/15) due to the presence of panic attacks.

I was diagnosed with Panic Disorder and Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder, the first due to panic attacks and the second due to an accident (car accident, hit my head). Today I work as a psychologist in my country and have the knowledge to say that both of them, but mostly the second diagnosis (PTSD), was misdiagnosis a.k.a. medical error. What I had was much closer to an acute stress reaction than PTSD or Panic. During the accident, I had a concussion (hit my head against the car window pretty hard), but I was dismissed from the hospital with no further investigation apart from a quick neurological exam.

The psychologist that treated me back then suggested I had PTSD and needed medication (despite telling me this when she had only seen me once). The doctor thought it was Panic Disorder, so I was given Paroxetine.

I've been taking it on/off for the past few years. I'm never truly off of it, but a few months after the events I described, I felt much better and lowered the dosage to 10mg.

Sometimes I could take only 5mg and be fine, but most of the time, once I reached 5mg or less, or had no medication at home (mostly due to difficulty scheduling hours with the doctor or things like that) I would experience severe withdrawal symptoms, mostly dizziness/light-headedness and severe brain zaps. That still happens to this day when I try to go lower or miss a dose, and it leaves me completely incapacitated. I've followed the gradual-but-steady withdrawal, but within this range, it happens no matter what I do.

I've been feeling stable for years now and I worry about the side effects/consequences of such a long use of this medication.