JaneAustenFan: Used Dr Schedule for Zoloft, then Reinstated. Help!

JaneAustenFan

Hi everyone,

I am a 26-year-old professional who was first put on Lexapro (I think 25 mg) at 18 for OCD. That stopped working after almost five years, and I was placed on Zoloft 50 mg, then 100 mg, which I have now been on for three years. I recently followed a doctor’s standard four-week schedule for tapering. I didn’t know the risks and got horribly sick (physically). My intrusive thoughts also returned worse than ever. 

In total, I was off of Zoloft for about 12 days. 

I then took 50 mg for two days and have now been taking 100 mg for ten days, but I am still having some symptoms. Notably, I have insomnia ever since starting the 100 mg. I’m currently trying to decide if I should drop to 50 mg again. I am meeting with a therapist, who has been more helpful than doctors thus far. 

Any insight or advice is appreciated. 

• ChessieCat changed the title to JaneAustenFan: Used Dr Schedule for Zoloft, then Reinstated. Help!

@JaneAustenFan

Welcome to SA. We are a volunteer run site helping members like you taper off antidepressants, or have tapered off and are healing.

This is your introduction page where you will receive information, ask questions and meet other members. We ask that each member only have one introduction page so we can keep all your information in one place.

First, can you please create a signature. Thank you.

Instructions:  Withdrawal History Signature

You reinstated at a really high dose and that could be some of the problems you are having. We suggest a small amount, usually around

1 mg and you could always increase in small amounts if necessary.

About reinstating and stabilizing to reduce withdrawal symptoms

What is withdrawal syndrome?

The Windows and Waves Pattern of Stabilization

Dr. Joseph Glenmullen's withdrawal symptom checklist

You mentioned that you were going to speak with your dr about reinstating. Here is a link you may find helpful.