SurvivingAntidepressants.org is temporarily closed to new registrations until 1 September ×

Lexapro taper after 10 years

Maclaughlinj

Hello,

I’m new to this. 
I’m currently tapering off Lexapro after being on it consistently for ten years. Around 3 years ago I noticed it no longer had the same affect and I was becoming increasingly anxious. 
I have been on 30mg of Lexapro, at the beginning of the month I began to follow the direction of my psychiatrist by reducing my dose by 5mg every 5 days. I have gone okay and I am still going okay, despite some episodes of panic throughout the day. 
I have only just found out about tapering off by 10%. 
I was prescribed Clonazepam to assist with withdrawal symptoms but I really do not want to take a benzodiazepine to assist, particularly when they are addictive in nature. 

Any advice would be great. 

Thank you 💕

Edited by Frogie
took out real name in 1st paragraph

@Maclaughlinj

Welcome to SA. We are a volunteer ran site helping people taper off psychiatric medications or have tapered off and are now healing. 

This is your introduction page where you will receive information, ask questions and meet other members. We ask that you only have one introduction page so we can keep all your information in one place.

Please add a signature.  Include drugs, doses, dates, and discontinuations & reinstatements in the last 12-24 months. Also include supplements. This will help us give you the most accurate advice we can. 

• Any drugs and supplements prior to 24 months ago can just be listed with start and stop years. 
  • Please use actual dates or approximate dates (mid-June, Late October) rather than relative time frames (last week, 3 months ago) 
  • Spell out months, e.g. "October" or "Oct."; 9/1/2016 can be interpreted as Jan. 9, 2016 or Sept. 1, 2016. 
  • Please leave out symptoms and diagnoses. 
  • A list is easier to understand than one or multiple paragraphs.