BigCat So maybe I'm not the problem? After 20 years!!

BigCat

First off, I am a MH professional.  I remember "coming out" to a colleague in 1993 that I was on an antidepressant.  

"Yeah, not been on that one, but Gill has" was the response.  I was so relieved.  It turned out that half the team were on something. We swapped side effect stories. 

Depression and anxiety was, and still is, seen as an occupational hazard, like hearing impairment if you are in a noisy industry.  But for folk who care for others, and I mean genuinely care, there are no earplugs or headsets to reduce the volume.  Same in social work, teaching, nursing, social care, policing, emergency services, etc.  What makes you give a $h!t is what makes you good at what you do but leaves you vulnerable.

I also suspect that I have several ADHD traits that also make me vulnerable to feeling bad about myself, and not always good at managing my emotions.  But I also understand that others might not be either...

I have tried doing without ADs on numerous occasions since 1992 (age 30).  Every time, within a couple of months, it has led to an escalation onto a different medications.  I have trusted this to be the appropriate clinical judgement of some very genuine and caring GPs and psychiatrists. They have helped for a while...

I have gone with the view that some people (like me?) are better on an AD permanently rather than try without (an AD is a preventative/safety net for your faulty brain chemicals) I have recommended this for my own patients (I don't prescribe) in good faith.  I care about my patients and have gone with the recommendations of professional bodies and of my respected colleagues and (less?)employers.