Twenty months ago, I stopped taking an SSRI drug (Citralopram/Celexa) that I had used for depression and pain management for 1 1/2 years. I started at a dosage of 20 and my doctor changed it to 40 after a year. Finally, tired of tremors, dull emotions and lack of motivation to do anything, I decided to stop. I didn't go cold turkey; I tapered off by halves (probably too fast) until the dosage was so low that it was ridiculous to try to halve it again. Still, the after-effects were so severe that they caused devastating impacts in my life.

For me, these effects were physical (brain zaps), mental (confusion about reality; inability to focus), emotional (out-of-proportion reactions to emotions, positive or negative; depression), and spiritual (because my spirit was greatly challenged).

I am not a doctor, but I've done lots of research on SSRI Discontinuation Syndrome. While on the drug, it coordinated the body's responses to emotional situations; after discontinuation of SSRIs, the brain must re-learn, through trial and error, how much chemicals and what chemicals to send the body for EACH type of emotion. Though some doctors admit that these withdrawal brain zaps exist, they don't understand them; some speculate that it is part of this "relearning" process.

During the early stages of my "relearning" process, I lost 4 friendships; three are now starting to mend, but will never be at the level they were before. I became estranged from every social group I was involved with, except for a small women's group. I resigned from active participation in the neighborhood community that I live in.