daveycrocket -- Newbie here for support (& friendship?) :)

daveycrocket

Hello!

Long time reader on here, and other anxiety forums, and thought I would take "the plunge" and post a quick introduction. Instead of staring at the wall and suffering in silence, I figured this is a healthier coping approach...

Background: 29 year old gay man, healthy/active and generally outgoing by nature. Started suffering anxiety attacks, blushing/social anxiety, and insomnia in my early 20s in NYC which landed me in a physiatrist's office with an RX for Zoloft and Xanax. I then proceeded to go on the Med Merry Go round (paxil, lexapro, effexor, ambien, luvox, among others) and eventually - to cope with a new "important" corporate job - convinced a physician to prescribe me the MAOI Nardil, allegedly the gold standard for social anxiety. It all came crashing down last year when I woke up in the ER several mornings (after nights of uncharacteristic impulsive decision making, drinking and mixing), receiving a DUI, and eventually (under some duress) resigning from my job last May.

At the time, I was living in San Francisco, and decided "f*ck it," I'm going to restart my life in Hawaii and pursue a career in Real Estate. I lasted a week in HI and was miserably homesick, lost, and anxious. I came home to Boston where I've since been doing consulting work remotely. 

I tried - again - to move to Hawaii in March of this year, and lasted 3 weeks, woke up one morning with a panic attack, and was on a plane that evening.