Peachy: one day at a time ...

Peachy

Hello all!

I have been trolling this site for over two years for re-assurance. I decided its finally time to participate. My story is a long and confusing one, but I will attempt a quick overview.

I have always had attention problems. I guess you could say "ADD". I had never experienced depression or anxiety. Never. 

I was having a rough time staying afloat in college, around the age of 20, so I decided to give the ADD drug Concerta a try. I had seen a commercial for it, or course. This drug totally changed my personality and entered me into the psych drug world. I am now 37 years old, and dealing with the ramifications. 

I soon became anorexic, which led to mild depression. I decided to go off the concerta, but did so cold turkey. The rest of my story is a roller coaster. I developed extreme anxiety and panic, depression and mild intrusive thoughts. From there i quickly started anti-depressants, (also bc of a commercial with a happy bouncy ball)  because I thought I was loosing my mind, which seemed to help. Decided to go off them eventually, cold-turkey, and hell began. Panic, scary intrusive thoughts, extreme depression. Back on and off anti-depressants, never able to get off, and never understood why. Just thought that I had mysteriously become severely mentally ill out of nowhere.I could never fathom that the drugs were my problem. 

From there I have been on and off (all cold-turkey) many varieties and cocktails of antidepressants, ADD meds, and even a trial of Lamictal. 

Throughout this I also developed extreme stomach issues. Guess what they prescribed me for this? You guessed it, more psych drugs.