sgsg: here I go ... soon

sgsg

I'm new here, but have been following this forum off and on for over a decade.  I think I'm finally stable enough to try tapering off my current meds.  I've been on some form of ssri for about 25 years.   I've been working with a naturopath for about 5 years to address some other health concerns that have really been supportive to my healing.  I'm entrenched in a wellness program that is also very supportive.  I tried earlier this year to taper off with help of a dr and thought it would work (silly me).  His suggestions for tapering were far too large and quick.  I've read a lot of what has been written here and have prepared myself to go much much slower and realize it could take years.  For this next attempt, the dr proposed a prozac bridge and I went along with it, as I've done something similar before and it worked pretty well.  (Again, silly me).  Prozac makes me very very tired and I do not want to continue it, plus I don't think I need it for the taper, given what I've read here.  I'm in the process of tapering off the Prozac and went from 20mg to 10mg with no problem whatsoever.  However, my jump from 10mg to 5mg was quite disasterous.  I now realize I must go much much slower going forward.  I'm at 10mg Prozac now and will start going down on that next week.  I will eventually attempt tapering off my 75mg effexor, but that will be after prozac taper.  I'm trying to get everything in place for this.  I've printed out symptom logs to keep track of everything daily and will look into the jeweler's scale for my effexor.  Here I go! 🙂

Started Zoloft at 16ish (1994ish), made me sooooooo tired.

Switched to Effexor around 2009-ish.

Started tapering off:  75mg Effexor XR and 20mg  Prozac in July 2019
As of July 27 2020:  6mg Prozac, 37.5 mg Effexor XR

• Moderator Emeritus

Welcome to SA, sgsg.