GMcA92: Withdrawing Citalopram

Hi all

Total newbie to the site. Found on Reddit and I'm so grateful!

Currently withdrawing from citalopram 40mg. Told GP it wasn't working as moods were terrible, he suggested reducing to 20mg for two days then nothing for 48hrs then small dose of sertraline. 

I've not done that 🫠. I want to be without these medications for a while. I'm recovering from a femoral osteotomy and tapered off my morphine at the same time. Not thinking clearly, obviously.

Last dose of citalopram was 22/02/24. Before this i reduced from 40mg to about 10mg over two weeks before cessation on 22nd Feb. 

I'm struggling massively with symptoms and have been for about a week. Now I'm feeling it is unbearable. I am considering reintroducing it slowly to mediate the symptoms but not to restart treatment but rather manage symptoms then attempt another weaning off.

I've read some of the forums on here about reductions and small and slow seems to be the best. I'm not sure I'm going to be doing more damage by reinstating about 5/10mg of citalopram after being off them for 1.5weeks. 

Thanks a lot for reading 

• KenA changed the title to GMcA92: Withdrawing Citalopram

Hi @GMcA92

Welcome to SA,

It sounds like you're now aware we suggest tapering by no more than 10% of your most recent dose each month? See  Why taper by 10%.

Could you help us out by adding a signature. This will ensure your drug history appears at the bottom of every post, making it easier for those trying to assist. 

How to Create a Signature 

On 3/4/2024 at 3:26 PM, GMcA92 said:

I'm struggling massively with symptoms and have been for about a week. Now I'm feeling it is unbearable.

What is happening? What symptoms are you experiencing?

On 3/4/2024 at 3:26 PM, GMcA92 said:

Last dose of citalopram was 22/02/24. Before this i reduced from 40mg to about 10mg over two weeks before cessation on 22nd Feb.