ExtraSpearmint: introduction

ExtraSpearmint

Hi, I’m new and this is my first post.  I have been tapering off 10 mgs liquid Prozac since September 28, 2021. As of February 9, 2022 I am down to 3.6 mgs.  I am a slow metabolizer of Prozac so the half life makes adjustments easy but the side effects are painful.  

My psychologist, who retired December 2021, who I went to off and on for 13, told my new psychiatrist June 2021 his opinion that I no longer needed antidepressants and needed my Ativan only rarely, as they were, in his opinion, now creating the anxiety and depression.  

My psychiatrist, after speaking with my psychologist and with me has agreed, the medication, especially the antidepressant is not what I need this the reason for tapering off.  Which was the reason I tapered off lexapro in 2018.  After a two and a half year taper down from five to one, my then psych pa told me to stop. That didn’t go well.  One month later I started on five mgs liquid Prozac and from July 2018 to October 2018 , after another doctor took over, and he slowly raised me to 20 mgs.  

Because my psychologist and I both were in agreement, with my doctor at that time, in 2020 I did a 4 month taper from 40 mgs (I was only on that dose a week because it really messed me up, the dose that worked best for me was ten, why I went to forty is long story)to nothing in five months.  Doctor said it was okay to do it this way.  That went well until withdrawal hit three months later.  

Back to February 2022.  With my last dose changeover a week ago, I have gone the gambit of emotions.  From here on out it’s smaller dose changes.  But my issue now is, (Prozac has always had a stimulant (ramped up feeling) effect on me,) I feel so ramped up now physically I’m having to take more Ativan.  I have texted my psychiatrist about this but still have yet to hear back from him.  This ramped up feeling is physical and it hasn’t really effected me emotionally.  Which is odd for me.